alachua county farmer’s market.

Last weekend, I finally got to visit the Alachua County Farmer’s Market. I went with Jimena and Lisa, and we spent a pleasant hour strolling about, sampling muscadine grapes, chatting with the vendors, tasting local honey, eating croissants, and of course–buying some fresh veggies. All in all, a lovely way to spend a Saturday morning. The market was a little smaller than I expected, until I found out that this particular farmer’s market only sells food grown IN Alachua County. I guess the bigger ones let people bring their goods from other counties/states? I suppose they must. This weekend, Jimena and I are going to try out the farmer’s market in the Haile Village Center. I think this just might have to become a more frequent weekend occurrence!

What I came home with:

  • 2 red peppers: $1.00
  • 2 cucumbers: $1.00
  • 1 chocolate croissant: $2.00
  • honey lotion: $6.00 (a bit of a farmer’s market splurge)
  • honey soap: $.50

This weekend I’m hoping to get more veggies, some fruit, and crossing my fingers for fresh flowers…

One thought on “alachua county farmer’s market.

  1. Mom

    Weird. I didn’t feel hungry until I looked at your pictures. Now I’m starving. The power of suggestion…. Makes me want to go to a Farmer’s Market!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

