the hangover.

I’m feeling a little drained this week. I came back from St. Augustine on a total high, sunkissed and blissed out. And then suddenly, the bliss turned into boredom, frustration, and a full-blown funk. Ridiculous how quickly my moods can change sometimes. I think the high of the weekend made coming back to the everyday mundane seem that much more…well, mundane. A fun hangover, if you will. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate my life or anything…it’s just one of those weeks where I’m pining for something other than podunk Gainesville and Alachua, FL, and I’m feeling a little melancholy about it. Even just a brief stay in St. Augustine was a welcome break. I think I need another (longer) vacation.

I’m actually kind of considering taking a trip by myself. And by considering, I mean trying to convince myself that a) I am brave enough to travel by myself, b) I would still enjoy visiting a place even if I didn’t have someone to share the experience with, and c) that I am brave enough to travel by myself.

Have any of you ever taken a trip alone? In the States OR abroad? I am kind of torn by that decision as well. Considering I am a scaredy cat, I’m not sure I could do the abroad thing alone. When I think about my trip to Europe a few years ago, I know I would have been so lost and scared by myself…but I was only 20 at the time. 25 is WAY more mature and capable of handling stressful international situations, right? Right??

Eh, not so sure about that. So maybe I should just try somewhere in the States. (Mind you, this still all relies on me working up the courage to actually follow through on any of these ramblings. Unfortunately not likely.)

Bleh. Funky funk funk funk. Oh well…these days just happen sometimes, right?

Image via Kelli Murray

2 thoughts on “the hangover.

  1. Sarah

    If it makes you feel better, I’ve totally been scoping out places to take you when you get yourself up here this fall/winter. 🙂 You’re going to flip over some of the landscape, and hopefully I’ll find some cool thrift store shopping places for us to hit up too! 🙂 Love ya, even if you are in a funk!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 5 things that make me really happy. |

Leave a Reply

