Friday| Inspired! | Oh the Hats

I’m not gonna lie. I’m majorly swooning over Will and Kate and all this royal wedding loveliness. I wish I could say I’m all too-cool-to-care-hipster about this, but alas…I’m actually just a girl who loves fairytales, romance, and royalty. Yep. When my alarm went off this morning, I bounced right out of bed and onto the couch, quite happy to give up sleep to watch the wedding of the century go down.

And really, wasn’t it just breathtaking? Every detail was perfect. The trees lining the aisle. The choir boys. The oh-so-fabulous hats. The fact that Kate did her own makeup. Her simple yet stunning tiara. Her dress…oh, her dress. The perfect sermon. The moment when you could read Will’s lips as he told her she looked beautiful. When she asked him in the carriage if he was happy, and he nodded that yes, he was happy indeed.

Just. Perfect.

So. It’s Friday, and I haven’t done a Friday | Inspired! post in awhile, so in honor of the events of today, I thought I’d post some photos of the gorgeous hats and fascinators. I am making it my mission to bring hats, fascinators, and gloves back into style in the States. In fact, I’m going to a wedding next week…methinks I should break out a fascinator for the occasion. I’ll take some inspiration from the royal wedding attendees and see if I am brave enough to go back to little old Palm Bay rocking something like that.

But first, I can’t resist this one photo of Will and Kate (er…I guess I have to call them William and Catherine now.) 

Love. Love love love.

Via CBSNews.com

Ok, on to the hats! (FYI—Now I’m going to talk as if I have some clue about hat fashion. This is total pretense, so just pretend what I’m saying makes a lick of sense. Thanks for playing along. 🙂 )

The Queen looked lovely in yellow on yellow. I hear going all matchy-matchy is in these days (thanks to E! for learning me on that), so way to go, Queen! You are uber fashionable. And I like the modern yet traditionally appropriate dress paired with a more traditional hat (here I go with my fake hat knowledge!). Spot on.

 

Via Huffington Post

Of course, we have to give a nod to Victoria Beckham. So chic. So put together. So…posh. 😉

Via Washington Post

Then there are the already much-debated fascinators worn by the Princesses Eugenie and  Beatrice. Their fashion-forward styles are going to be loved or hated, and the word ’round office today is that they were hated. But, I actually think I like them. Crazy and over the top? Sure! Appropriate for a royal wedding? I mean, I can’t judge…they’d know better than I would. But really, for royal fashionistas, would you expect any less? I like that they went for it.

Via HollywoodLife.com

I loved Kate’s mother Carole’s hat. A more traditional shape, but with lovely detailing to give a pop of modern. Sweet with a dash of sass.

Via MailOnline.com

And then there is Chelsy Davy. I’m not going to lie, I didn’t love her fascinator. Or her dress, but we are talking head gear right now. The design was almost too simple…and I’m usually a big fan of the minimal birdcage veil, but this version just didn’t do it for me.

Via MailOnline.com

And last but not least (because this post is wayyy long and my lunch break is about over), Miriam Gonzalez. Girlfriend rocked a giant pink flower on her head. You go, girl. Super editorial. Again, no idea if this was appropriate for a royal wedding, but I say do your thang. Although you should have ditched the dots and gone with something chic in a solid color. Just sayin. You were already pushin’ it with the flower.

Via MailOnline.com

Ok, that’s plenty for now. If you are still reading, thanks! Apparently pretending to be hat fashion-saavy was way fun for me and I got a little carried away. But it’s a fairytale kind of day…perfect for getting carried away, don’t you think? 🙂

6 thoughts on “Friday| Inspired! | Oh the Hats

  1. Jessica

    I’m so glad you posted about this because I didn’t see any of it. And I didn’t think I cared, but these pictures are pretty awesome. Anyway, on the princess fascinators, I love the entire look the blonde girl is sporting. Awesome. The girl in blue just looks like one of Cinderella’s mean stepsisters. It’s just too costume-y or something. And I kind of hate the colors. The end.

    Reply
    1. Anwen Elizabeth Photography Post author

      Glad I could get you caught up on the oh-so-important hat fashion from today. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Sarah

    Ok, did you see Victoria’s shoes? Yikes! I guess that’s from years of Spice Girl concerts with crazy high heel boots. I didn’t know that those half-hat things were called fascinators. We don’t wear those in chula!

    Reply
    1. Anwen Elizabeth Photography Post author

      Holy cow, yes I saw her shoes. 7″ heels!!! That’s insane. And she’s 5 months preggo. How she walked around I have no idea.

      Reply
  3. Mila

    I was laughing all morning. These people are nuts! Victoria’s heels made mine hurt, but I kinda liked her hat. Although I would have stabbed myself several times with it 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Nothingness with a side of donuts. Enjoy. |

Leave a Reply

