Williston Concept Shoot | Part 1

It all started on a muggy morning last August. Sarah and I had spent the night at my grandparents’ house, and we were up bright and early. It was our first photography workshop, and we were NERVOUS. How would it go? (Amazingly.) Would we learn anything? (Heck yes!) Would Courtney Fries be as nice in person as she seemed on her blog? (Even more so!) Would we make any new friends? (Would we ever!)

One of the things that stuck with me (and I think all the other attendees as well) from Courtney’s workshop was the encouragement she gave us to build friendships with others in the industry. To be leaders in our own photography communities, put ourselves out there, and make the networking/hanging out/collaborating happen. It can be a lonely, isolating industry if you let it, but it doesn’t have to be that way. The idea stuck with me. I wanted friends who understood what I do and why I love it so much.

Fast forward 7 months…

Not only do I chat on Facebook regularly with a couple of the girls from the workshop, but I’m second-shooting a wedding in April with one friend I made that day, and Sarah and I also got to shoot with our workshop friend Chrissy a couple weekends ago. Chrissy lives in Milwaukee, so when she found out she was coming down to Ocala for her dad’s wedding, we knew we needed to hang out. Hanging out turned into brainstorming ideas for a shoot, which turned into a full-fledged concept, complete with an amazing location, wonderful models, and professional hair and makeup styling. (This is what happens when you get 3 photogs brainstorming together…we go all out!)

I’ll talk more about our concept for the shoot when I post Part 2 tomorrow, but for now, I’ll leave you with the first half of the photos. (And yes, I posted WAY too many yet again, but I just couldn’t choose!) Check out Chrissy and Sarah’s blogs for more photos from the shoot!

Photographers/Stylists: Anwen Elizabeth Photography, Sarah Reed Photography, Chrissy Rose Photography

Hair and Makeup: Stephanie Bliss

Models: Meagan and Nate Weinstock

Assistant/Dog Wrangler: Lori Garrett

Stunt Dog: Francis (aka Frannie)

3 thoughts on “Williston Concept Shoot | Part 1

  1. Jac

    Your female model reminds me so much of Emma Watson… can you imagine her modeling for a Prada inspired shoot!?!? Gorgeous!

    http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://juicy.mashkulture.net/magyar/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/emma_watson_burberry_03.jpg&imgrefurl=http://juicy.mashkulture.net/english/2009/06/09/emma-watson-for-burberry-prorsum-10-springsummer/&usg=__LMUAjbbLng9gHKucKo1QIzxKNaQ=&h=392&w=540&sz=118&hl=en&start=0&sig2=R6Ph-358BLXMH6zKYtL4Aw&zoom=1&tbnid=pGHopzD23IShtM:&tbnh=129&tbnw=168&ei=bUl1TdiOGYbBtgeXzJyNCQ&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dprada%2Bemma%2Bwatson%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26hs%3DDWi%26sa%3DN%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official%26biw%3D1366%26bih%3D585%26tbs%3Disch:10%2C133&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=124&vpy=268&dur=2364&hovh=191&hovw=264&tx=155&ty=87&oei=bUl1TdiOGYbBtgeXzJyNCQ&page=1&ndsp=24&ved=1t:429,r:16,s:0&biw=1366&bih=585

    Reply
  2. Pingback: sarah + jared | maternity |

Leave a Reply

