A Recent Development

My fascination with fashion is a recent development. Sure, I’ve been watching Project Runway pretty religiously for the last few years, and I won’t lie, I loved On the Road With Austin and Santino. But, it was more of an intrigued but detached viewing, rather than an actual understanding of “fashion.”

But then two things happened.

One, the Devil Wears Prada. Specifically, this quote from Nigel to Andy: “Don’t you know that you are working at the place that published some of the greatest artists of the century? Halston, Lagerfeld, de la Renta. And what they did, what they created was greater than art because you live your life in it.”

That quote blew my mind, and I started looking at fashion as living art rather than just some bizarro creation only a model could pull off on a runway. The runway is only the beginning…the trends trickle down into places like Target or Old Navy (ie places I can afford to shop). So those over-the-top, who-would-ever-really-wear-that creations are actually a daily part of my life. Fascinating.

Two, fashion blogs. Ok, they’ve been around forever, but I’m a newbie to blogland, and this discovery has changed my life. Real people, wearing real clothes, and putting their own spin on “fashion.” Who knew getting dressed every morning could be such a creative outlet? I went to private schools all through middle and high school, so I never had much chance to develop my own style. Then college came along and I got lazy. (Who wants to schmuck all over campus in cute heels? And come on…it’s Gainesville for goodness sake. Fashion here equals flip flops, jeans, and a shirt from Forever 21.)

But now…now I have an excuse to get dressed up in the morning. A change to express my own style every day at work. Sure, it’s still Gainesville, but at least most of my co-workers are pretty stylish, so my fashion experiments don’t tend to make me look too crazy. (Although today I’ve got knee high socks on with heels…I might have scared a few people with this one.)

Anyways, this ended up being a much longer explanation of WHY I am just now learning to love and appreciate fashion than I planned, but whatev. You are still reading, right? 😉

On that note, the original intent of this post was to do a mini-review of some of my favorites from Mercedez-Benz Fashion Week (which is going on right now in New York)…so here goes! 

Jason Wu

Jason Wu is by far my favorite of the week from what I’ve seen so far. His twist on preppy…to die for. It’s got a Rachel-Berry-on-acid vibe. I dig it. I would wear pretty much anything from his collection.

See Vogue’s review and photos of the Jason Wu Fall ’11 Collection here.

Sophie Theallet

On the left—puff sleeves. Love.

On the right—casual on top, party on the bottom. Sew that slit up a bit and I’d be all over it.

See Vogue’s review and photos of the Sophie Theallet Fall ’11 Collection here.

Tory Burch

Bows at the neck. That’s all I needed to fall for this line.

See Vogue’s review and photos of the Tory Burch Fall ’11 Collection here.

Zero + Maria Cornejo

Loving these color combinations. She uses vegetable dyes…gorgeous hues as a result.

See Vogue’s review and photos of the Zero + Maria Cornejo Fall ’11 Collection here.

Derek Lam

Derek Lam’s primary colors are the perfect pop without being too vibrant. I’m realizing how much I’m drawn to neutrals, but I still love a well-placed pop of color (like that blue coat! Amazing!).

See Vogue’s review and photos of the Derek Lam Fall ’11 Collection here.

Leave a Reply

