A Handmade Christmas | Guest Blogger Anne Cortez

Yesterday I gave you a little glimpse of my sweet, but simple Christmas decorations. Now it’s time for the really good stuff. Last week I was trolling through the excitement that is my Facebook News Feed, and I came across my friend Anne’s photos of her Christmas decorations. First of all, Anne takes GORGEOUS photos, so they caught my eye immediately. Upon further inspection, I realized that Anne is Mrs. Crafty McCrafterson and made some AMAZING decorations! So, I asked her if she would be a guest blogger and share some of her craftiness with all you lovely people. Because she’s super awesome, she agreed, and with no further ago…here’s Anne!

*******

Hi Guys! My name is Anne and Wendy and I have known each other since high school! We’ve managed to reconnect in recent months through the wonders of Facebook and I’ve just been so excited to see the amazing photographer she has become! That’s why I was beyond flattered when she asked me to write a guest posting for her blog. For all of you regular readers, thanks for the opportunity for me to share a little bit of…well, me!

I’m the wife of a wonderful man in the US Air Force and we have two beautiful little girls! As a military family, we work hard to make the holidays extra special being that we’re not always able to reunite with relatives due to distance or finances. One of the ways I try to make Christmas especially exciting for my girls is by choosing and making decorations that combine lots of different textures, are kid-friendly, bright and fairly inexpensive.

Here today, I hope to give you a few ideas as well as point you in the right direction for getting started.

We’ll be focusing in on the kitchen/breakfast area as for most homes, that is the area that gets the most attention. It’s where the baking is done, the hot cocoa is made and where most of those wonderful memories of Christmas really take shape.

This is my kitchen.

Christmas Kitchen

Can you tell I like turquoise?!?

There are a few things about my décor this year that really get my heart pumping. Here, I’ll show you…

First, this Countdown to Christmas make-shift advent calendar.

Countdown to Christmas

I love this because it’s a little unconventional and really adds something to the overall feel of the room! We put Hershey’s kisses in each box and the girls look forward to getting to open the box for that particular day and getting their Kiss. 🙂 You can find them HERE.

The second aspect of my kitchen that really sets the tone is this super-easy wreath.

Fabric Wreath

I made mine with a sewing machine, but this is something that can easily be recreated by hand with a needle and thread. You can find the supplies and instructions HERE.

There’s a third project that I just LOVE but you can’t see it from the original photo. It’s this one.

DSC_0281

DSC_0283

Made completely from cardstock (and one button), this banner is beautiful and fairly simple to create. Lucky for me, I have a next door neighbor with a Cricut and she cut out the letters for me! But everything else can be done with a pair of scissors, a ruler and some twine.

A few final tidbits about my décor:

An inexpensive way to change out your wall art is to simply frame some decorative, themed paper.

DSC_0002

Add a few accessories here and there that coordinate and you’ve got yourself a happily decorated room!

Snack Jar

DSC_0008

Kitchen Tree

And there ya have it! A fun, coordinated Christmas room.

So to highlight:

  1. Pick two or three main projects to be highlighted in your room.
  2. Using fabric and paper is inexpensive and a great way to combine various textures, patterns and colors.
  3. Don’t be afraid to be a copy cat! People won’t care that you copied all of your décor from someone else! They’ll just LOVE the way everything looks and feels!
  4. Accessorize with clearance items! The Target dollar bins and clearance items at Michaels and Hobby Lobby are excellent!!!

Well, I hope I’ve atleast helped to get your juices flowin’! Thank you so much for allowing me this opportunity to share with you some of the things that make our holidays extra special!

Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “A Handmade Christmas | Guest Blogger Anne Cortez

  1. Clair

    Just popped over from Go4Pro and wanted to say congrats! You are adorable and I love your photo and about me page. Very telling in a very good way! Way to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

