Who, me?

Photo by Sarah Reed Photography Well hello there! It’s a lovely, albeit FREEZING Tuesday, and I’ve got a fun little post for you today. I follow a blog called Go{4}Pro, written by the fabulous Leah Remillet, and last month she announced a contest–“The About Me Page” Contest. In a nutshell, Leah believes (and I agree!) that having a good self-portrait is an essential component of your photography website. It’s professional, it helps people connect with you, and gosh darn it…your site is about photography, so why wouldn’t you have a good photo of yourself on there??

Lucky for me, I had already planned a For the Love get-together where we would all take headshots of each other! I LOVED one of the photos Sarah took of me, so all I had left to do was update my “About Me” page. It was actually really fun thinking about…well…me! So, without further ado…

About Me”

Welcome to Anwen Elizabeth Photography!

Anwen? What kind of name is that, you say? And isn’t my name actually Wendy? What kind of confusing mind games am I trying to play here?

Welll…here’s the deal. My dad wanted to name me Arwen (yes, like the elf in Lord of the Rings), but my mom wasn’t down with that (thanks, Mom!), so they compromised and named me Anwen (which is Welsh). But my dad also wanted a little girl named Wendy, so they made the obvious decision to name me Anwen and nickname me Wendy. Not confusing in the slightest! 😉 But I’m not complaining…I love the name Anwen, and I’ve always gone by Wendy. So I figured, might as well get a little use out of this awesomely unique name, right? So Anwen Elizabeth Photography it is…and you can call me Wendy. 🙂

But you clicked on the “About Me” section, so you probably want to know a little more about me then just where my name came from, right?

Well…..

I have a Cocker Spaniel named Lexie, who may or may not be the love of my life (at least until I find the real love of my life).

I’m kind of a dork. I like Harry Potter ALOT, my all-time favorite band is Hanson (although Mumford and Sons is the current fave…I have a thing for London boys), and I own all the special extended DVD box sets of Lord of the Rings.

My favorite place in the world is Cinque Terre, Italy. When I’m having a bad day, I daydream about leaving everything behind and just taking the first flight to Italy.

I’m 25, which I think may be the best age ever.

My clothing style is one part hipster, one part vintage, and one part preppy, which adds up to the super fancy technical term “neo-traditional.” I’ve always loved fashion, and I have just recently gotten brave enough to wear it. I actually wore socks with high-heeled, chunky sandals to work. Socks with sandals! But it’s straight off the runway…I promise! (Don’t believe me? Just ask John Galliano, Burberry, or Dolce & Gabana. Boo yah!)

I was an English major at the University of Florida, and I’ll be a bookworm and a Gator fan for life.

I always chew two pieces of gum at a time. Yep, two–none of that halvsies nonsense.

I am a dreamer.

I am a thrift store/Craigslist junkie. My favorite things in my apartment are my ugly yellow lamps, snagged for 5 buckeroos at a thrift store.

I am a full-time Marketing Communications Coordinator for a biotech company (ooh, sounds fancy, eh?), and a part-time wedding and lifestyle photographer, thrifter, crafter, blogstalker, wannabe fashionista, and blogger.

And I love making new friends…so don’t hesitate to say hello!

5 thoughts on “Who, me?

  1. Rob wert

    Let’s not forget the name “T-bone” for your dog. Yeah it has been a while hasn’t it. I would say what’s new since last we chat but seems I can just read about it in you blog since that’s its intent – unless you have a ‘cliff notes’ somewhere? 😛

    Reply
    1. Anwen Elizabeth Photography Post author

      Yeahh…the blog is the cliff notes. In a nutshell, I work far too much. lol…but it’s fun, photography is kind of taking off, and life is pretty darn good right now. Let’s chat sometime though! I’d love to hear what you are up to these days.

      Reply
  2. Rob wert

    After posting this comment im immediately looking up the origin and usage of the phrase “in a nutshell”… I need to make sense of such an odd phrase.

    its good to hear your photography is doin well. I do vaguely remember you were at a crossroads with something regarding or relating to it a while back and i had to make something up i.e. Pull out of myass to make myself seem cool along the lines of “success vs happiness”…

    Anyways, yes ANWEN, lets chat sometime. Hit me up a message via fb and ill send you the latest cliff notes :p

    Also, Merry Christmas and happy new years!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

