For the Love | Starbucks and Headshots

I’m SO excited to post these photos, because it means Sarah and I finally made a “For the Love” get-together happen!! Wanting to find friends with common interests, motivated by Courtney Fries’ advice at her workshop, and inspired by Leah Remillet’s post on her blog Go{4}Pro Photography, Sarah and I set out to make some photo friends. Our original idea to style and plan a creative shoot and invite other photographers to shoot with us was kind of a bust. Our models fell through at the last minute, so we postponed that idea. I think that was actually a good thing, because instead of doing a shoot like that as our first get-together, we decided to keep it a little more low-key and just meet for coffee and take some photos of each other.

And it was SO MUCH FUN! Debra and Stephanie met up with Sarah and I bright and early on a Saturday morning, cameras in hand, excitement on all of our faces, everyone just happy to be around people who actually want to just sit there and talk about photography. A couple white chocolate mochas later (with a dollop of whipped cream of course), and we were off to shoot. Then there was that moment where we looked around at each other, cameras poised to shoot, realizing all of us were trying to avoid being the first model. Haha…that’s a group of photogs for you! We convinced Sarah to do the first couple shots (baller!), and then Steph’s camera was being glitchy so she jumped in instead. Eventually we all took turns in front of the camera, and boy let me tell you….I totally understand now why clients say it’s awkward in front of the camera! What do I do with my hands? Am I getting a double chin? Did that face say ‘fierce’ or did I just look pissed?

But, it got easier the longer I was in front of the camera, and now I can tell clients I understand the awkwardness and explain better how to relax during a shoot. You can see a few photos Sarah took of me on her blog–Sarah Reed Photography.

But I digress…

The point of all of this is that it was SO wonderful hanging out with these ladies, and I can’t wait to do it again. And I hope even more of you join us! The more the merrier!! If you are interested in coming to a “For the Love” get-together, what kind of activity would you want to do? Participating in a planned shoot? Dinner? Coffee and headshots again? Let me know!

Here’s our little group…Stephanie, Sarah, me, and Debra. Pretty decent photo by a random passerby!

And here are some shots of the lovely ladies! (There are alot…I seriously am no good at narrowing down photos for blog posts!)

And of course, a few photos of everyone shooting away!!

5 thoughts on “For the Love | Starbucks and Headshots

  1. Chrissy

    I am so stinkin jealous of you gals!!! Love the shots and I love the idea. You girls rock! You have totally inspired me now. I am am going to get something like this together in Milwaukee for the spring.
    You’re just awesome!

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    OOOH! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! 🙂 You and the photos! 🙂 🙂 You rock. And I’m sending you an email. And I totally think we should do something when Chrissy is here….

    Reply
  3. Pingback: For the Love |

  4. Pingback: sarah + jared | maternity |

Leave a Reply

