Music Videos | Inspiration

Do you remember Pop Up Videos on VH1? You know, when little interesting fact bubbles popped up during music videos? I LOVED those…and I’ve loved music videos ever since. I think the whole music video thing has become a little old school since TRL left the air, but I don’t care. I still love me some music videos. I get ready every morning with Jump Start on VH1, and the creativity of the music videos I see never ceases to amaze me. I’ve always got my favorites on the countdown, and there are even a couple recently that I’m definitely going to use as inspiration for a future shoot…but you’ll have to wait to hear more about that.

Anyways, these are a few of my favorites from the last month or so….hope they inspire you like they inspired me!

Mumford & Sons “Little Lion Man”

First of all, this band is by far my favorite at the moment. Every single song on their CD is just perfect. I don’t often like every song on a CD, but this one I could listen to over and over without every skipping a track. Also, they are from West London, which ups their amazing factor by about a zillion. Oh, and go read their biography on their site…or just read this excerpt: “They create a gutsy, old-time sound that marries the magic of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young with the might of Kings Of Leon, and their incredible energy draws us in quickly to their circle of songs, to the warmth of their stories, and to their magical community of misty-eyed men.”

Ok, if you are a kindred spirit, that sentence will knock you over too. Hot damn, I need to meet these boys.

On to the video…can someone build this set for me to do a shoot on?? Seriously…amazing.

Cee-lo Green “Forget You”

This video is amazing. I’ve always loved old school soul, and I feel like this song is the perfect marriage of  The Temptations and P.Diddy…or something like that lol.  All I know is, I literally DANCE around my living room when this song comes on in the morning. And, the backup singers are probably my favorite part…hilarious, and so fierce!

Eminem ft. Rhianna “Love the Way You Lie”

This video is a bit intense, but it’s brilliant. Dominic Monaghan is in the video, and I love him. I actually don’t like Megan Fox, but I think she does a great job in this video. And Eminem may be controversial and a bit over the top sometimes, but he is a fantastic artist…and everything Rhianna touches turns to gold. So yeah…all the makings of an excellent video.

Rhianna “Only Girl (In the World)”

I love every single thing about this video. Every bit of it, from the balloons, to the styling, to the way the shots are cut to the music, to the red overlay…man. Just so so good. I actually would LOVE to do a shoot that’s inspired by this video…I’ve got some ideas, anyone want to be my model?

Florence + the Machine “Dog Days Are Over”

This video has been out for awhile, but the video’s weirdness just fascinates me, and the song is still one of my faves at the moment. Florence is one unique cookie…can’t wait to see more from her!

30 Seconds to Mars “Closer to the Edge”

And finally, just a little Jared Leto eye candy. Yep…I think the song is decent and the video is just ok, but Jared Leto’s hotness makes me stop and watch it every morning. Yeahhhh…you know you are thinking the same thing. Don’t lie…it’s those eyes! Ok yeah…I’m done…enjoy…

One thought on “Music Videos | Inspiration

  1. Pingback: music videos. | inspired. |

Leave a Reply

