The Beautiful Age

How do you write an adequate 25th birthday blog post? These are thoughts that will be posted for everyone to see, and for me to read a year from now or ten years from now. These thoughts will sum up Oct. 12, 2010…so they better be darn good, right? Inspiring even?

I mean, I could get all deep on you and expound (yep, expound) on all of the things I’ve learned in my early 20s that have prepared me for this moment. Or, I could get all “Dude, it’s my birthday, just give me some Momma-made pound cake, that’s all I need in my life.” Or, considering this one is the big 2-5, I could get all sentimental and all “Where did the last 25 years gooo?? I’m getting sooo old OMGGG…” or perhaps I could just be overly excited about my car insurance rates going down (which I AM overly excited about btw).

But nope…I won’t make you suffer through all that. Instead, I just want to say I’m uber excited, because I finally hit “The Beautiful Age.” What the hey is “The Beautiful Age” you ask? Well, I suppose since you asked…

A long time ago in a galaxy far far away (aka when I was 20 and still a wide eyed pup living it up in college), my friends Mandy and Kori came up with a theory they called “The Beautiful Age.” At the time, 25 seemed SO far off, and anyone who was that age was fascinating, beautiful, and just all-around amazing. So their theory? You are the MOST beautiful, in every way, at 25. Not 24. Not 26. TWENTY-FIVE.

It’s the age when you aren’t young anymore, but you aren’t old either. You finally have some idea of who you are, and you are probably living life in the way you want to…not just riding the flow of college, not living with parents (hopefully), but just doing your thang in your own way. You’ve got a little (but not too much) wisdom in your eyes. You’ve been mercilessly kicked from your parent’s nest into college, where you managed to survive without killing too many brain cells and making too many bad decisions, and maybe even earned a degree in the process. Then you’ve again been hurled mercilessly into the real world, where everything ain’t always peaches and cream. But you’ve survived ALL that, and you’ve (sort of) got a plan for what you want to do with your life. (Whether that plan sticks is another story altogether, but stay with me…) You are finally gaining back the self-confidence that in all likelihood was knocked down a peg or two along the way by that bad boyfriend and a couple sh*ttastic ex-friends (pardon my French, I know this is a family show and all, but that word is just necessary sometimes). You can finally look in the mirror and like what you see (most days).

The idea of “The Beautiful Age” stuck with me over the last 5 years and I’ve actually been looking forward to reaching 25. It’s like I have permission to be amazing now, because hot diggity dog…I am “The Beautiful Age.”

So, now that I’ve got permission to be BEAUTIFUL, I shall do just that. 25 is going to be my best year yet, just because I said so. 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Beautiful Age

  1. Mom

    So, 7:07 came and went and you are officially 25 and have entered “The Beautiful Age”. Happy Birthday, dear Anwen! The card we sent you seemed very apropo to your blog. We love you so much!!! So glad you had a great birthday!

    Love, Mom

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    You ARE beautiful — inside and out! I’m so thankful to have such a beautiful person as a friend! 🙂 (And can I extend my beautiful age a few years???)

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Who, me? |

Leave a Reply

