Why I Blog & A Blue Springs Underwater Bride

Lovely blog readers, I know I have yet again been SUCH a blogging slacker this week. This is so not like me! I am very much of the mindset that regardless of how busy I get, blogging is a major priority for me…not just because it’s a crucial part of my business, but also because I just love blogging. I do. I like writing, I like sharing pretty things I find online, I like posting things that inspire me, I like posting photos for people to enjoy, and I like documenting my life. I’ve always been one of those people who has had a journal and written in it regularly, and while I still journal Bridget Jones-style off and on, this blog has really become my journal–my way to document life. Sure, I don’t write EVERYTHING I’m thinking or doing on the blog (trust me, you wouldn’t want to read all my over-dramatic thoughts on this that and the other…we’ll let my real journal deal with all that), but I do try to blog the big things, the important things, the exciting things, the mundane things, and even the not-so-great things. This is life—the good, the bad, and the ugly—and I like putting it all out there for the world to see. Ok, so sometimes I feel really uncomfortable opening myself up that much, online to everyone and their mom, giving people the chance to love me, hate me, or just be indifferent to me. I’m learning more and more every day that as long as I’m proud of the photos I take and the blog posts I write, that’s all that matters…because it’s just who I am. So, here I am…opening myself up to you once again! 🙂

I’ve got a crazy little weekend coming up, but I promise…I’ll be better at the blogging. Not because it’s expected, but because I want to. I’ll have tons of fun things to share in the next week, including more of the Blue Springs Bridal Shoot photos (woo!), photos from the wedding I’m second-shooting this weekend, and photos that just may have antique airplanes and horses in them. Yep, told you it was going to be a crazy weekend! 🙂

So, to tide you over for the moment, here are a few more photos from the Blue Springs shoot. We took these at the very end with a basic point-and-shoot camera that was waterproof. I wish I could have used underwater housing for my T2i, but alas, to buy one was close to 1,000 bucks, and just to rent was close to 300 smackeroos. Uhhhh…no can do right now. So, we figured since we had brides in dresses in the water, we might as well get a few UNDER the water as well, even if we just used a point-and-shoot. Amazingly, I actually really love how they turned out. Anna was a swimmer back in school, so she had some sweet underwater moves. The photos came out so ethereal and kind of mysterious. Love them!

7 thoughts on “Why I Blog & A Blue Springs Underwater Bride

  1. Mom

    Those are so cool, literally and figuratively. Makes me think, “mermaid bride”. So incredibly unique to see someone swimming underwater in a wedding dress. Love it!

    Reply
    1. Anwen Elizabeth Photography Post author

      Aww thanks Kim! You are sweet! And hey, you don’t need to be a bride to do a shoot like that…really any fun flowy dress will do! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

