Courtney Fries Workshop:::Fantasy of Flight Part 1

Sunday night is already here?? Where did the weekend go?? Oh yeahh…it went to that awesome thing called a Courtney Fries Workshop!

I have been looking forward to this workshop for a couple of months now, and I’ve been following Courtney’s blog for almost a year now…so add all that together and I was REALLY excited! But I’m not gonna lie…I was nervous too. Would I like the other attendees? Would they like me? Would I be the most inexperienced in the bunch and feel really dumb the whole time? Would I forget everything I know, flip my camera to auto and end up crying in a corner by the end of it?

Well, the answer is YES I definitely liked the other attendees, I think/hope they liked me too, we were all in a similar experience bracket so I didn’t feel like I was asking completely dumb questions, and I didn’t forget everything I know and I definitely didn’t cry in the corner. I was a smiling fool all day, and if there was even a chance of crying, it would have been from sheer joy that other people shared my feelings of excitement, frustration, and passion for this crazy little photography industry.

Thankfully, Sarah got a spot in the workshop at the last minute, so I had someone else to be nervous with. But, we were SO silly to be nervous at all, because every moment of the day ended up being awesome. From the minute we got there, I knew I would like the other photogs. We all introduced ourselves, and when another girl admitted she was nervous too…well, I knew it was going to be a good day. It was going to be good because we were all in it together–nervous, excited, and ready to learn.

And boy oh boy did we learn. I got answers to questions I didn’t even know I had. I learned so much it will probably take a few days to even process all of it, but hey–that’s why I took notes. ๐Ÿ™‚ And on top of the learning, I got to socialize with people who share my passion, which was even better than I thought it would be. I made some great friends, and I know we will all stay in touch and be a little support group for each other as we all tackle this crazy world of photography.

We had two shoots yesterday in addition to the round-table learning sessions, and I loved them both. The morning shoot was a bunch of super cute kids at the Music Ranch in Lakeland, and the afternoon shoot was a bridal shoot at the Fantasy of Flight airstrip in Polk City. I’m blogging the photos out of order, because I was just SO in love with the bridal shoot that I couldn’t resist editing those first. The shoot was just my style…a 40’s vibe, vintage airplanes, hot shoes, gorgeous dresses,ย bright red lips, and beautiful hairpieces. Courtney did an amazing job picking models, styling the shoot, and choosing the location. I was just giddy the entire time. Plus, the weather was totally on our side–storm clouds boiled in the distance, giving the shoot a gorgeous dramatic backdrop, and the rain held off until the end of the shoot. It was perfect!

I’m really excited about applying all of my newfound knowledge in my upcoming shoots, but for now, enjoy the first set of photos from yesterday…many more to come! ๐Ÿ™‚

9 thoughts on “Courtney Fries Workshop:::Fantasy of Flight Part 1

  1. Jessica

    aaaaah wendy! these are so good. I keep trying to pick some favorites, but I can’t. I really like the suitcase ones, and the camper ones. and all of them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Courtney Fries

    Wendy, GREAT shots! I’m so happy to see what you created on Saturday ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much for coming to the workshop and adding your wonderful personality to the mix. You are a beautiful person…inside and out! xoxo

    Reply
  3. Chrissy

    Wendy, your images are beautiful. I am just now getting back home and having a chance to look through all the shots from the workshop…what talent!!! You’re awesome and I am so glad I met you. I look forward to keeping up with your work and sharing ideas and questions, etc. You are an inspiring blogger too…love it!!!!

    Reply
    1. Anwen Elizabeth Photography Post author

      Thanks, Chrissy! ๐Ÿ™‚ It was so much fun meeting you too, and I know we will definitely keep in touch. I can’t wait to see your photos too!! I checked out your blog…you’ve definitely got skill too, girl! All the people in your shoots look so relaxed and happy…not always so easy to achieve, so you must just have a natural way with people during a shoot. Can’t wait to see even more of your stuff! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Courtney Fries Workshop:::Music Ranch, Lakeland, FL Part 1 |

  5. Pingback: Courtney Fries Workshop:::Music Ranch, Lakeland, FL Part 2 |

  6. Pingback: For the Love | Starbucks and Headshots |

Leave a Reply

