Photowalk 2010:::Micanopy

 Last Saturday I participated in Scott Kelby‘s  Worldwide Photowalk. The walk I joined was in Micanopy, but there are walks literally all over the world! It was definitely a cool concept…photographers everywhere doing the thing we love most, all at the same time. We may not all speak the same language, or live in the same time zone, but we all know that feeling of excitement when we point a camera at something beautiful.

All that said…I was really debating what to write about this experience. On the one hand, I could talk about the comraderie, the bonding of photography enthusiasts, the networking opportunity, the making of new friends….but then I wouldn’t be being honest, and this blog is, if anything, pretty darn honest. You’ve read about my good days and my bad, the days I’m lacking in confidence and the days I’m over-the-moon excited about life…so you get the real deal from me at all times!

So honestly…there was little comraderie, or not much bonding, almost zilch networking, or no making of new friends. I think I was expecting all of us to show up with our cameras, skip around holding hands and chat incessantly about our respective businesses, all the while snapping breathtaking photos together. I wanted to learn from people. I wanted to make friends with people who shared and understood my passion.

But it seemed like not many people were interested in those things. Mostly I saw alot of “my camera is bigger than yours” posturing, and musings of  “well, light is sooo important, so let me gaze about for a bit analyzing it.” I went with my friend Sarah…so we pretty much ended up talking only to each other. There were a couple of friendly people, but I was just underwhelmed with the whole experience.

Maybe it’s silly and unrealistic, but I want photographers to embrace each other instead of feel threatened by each other. Be friends instead of competitors. It’s such a hard balance to strike…yes, we are all in the same market, technically competiting with each other to some extent…and perhaps I’m just so new to this industry that I still feel like holding hands and singing Kumbaya rather than beating out a competitor…but I don’t care. I still want that, and I’ll still seek that out. And I’ll still go to the Photowalk next year, and next time I’ll do better too. I’ll talk to more people, make more of an effort. And maybe it will make the difference.

Despite the disappointing aspects, the scenery did not disappoint. Micanopy is so fun and quaint, and I definitely loved shooting around the area. I had a hard time narrowing down the photos I wanted to post, so you get TONS! 🙂 Enjoy!

This is Sarah…she’s pretty much awesome.

I think this is my favorite photo from the day. Just something about it…

If you’ve followed my blog, you know how much I LOVE shooting vintage bikes. So I was very excited to stumble across this sweet bike!

Yeahhhh….there were toilets…just sitting outside…

4 thoughts on “Photowalk 2010:::Micanopy

  1. Sarah

    I think you’re pretty awesome too… 🙂 And I’m SO glad we went together and got to chat so much!!! Love, love, love the shot with the lawn chair in the grave yard, and the vintage feel of all of your shots. Still need to get mine up… 😉

    Reply
  2. Pingback: sarah + jared | maternity |

Leave a Reply

