Treat Yourself

Have you ever thought about the phrase “treat yourself”? Treat yourself to some delicious food, treat yourself to a massage, treat yourself to a new outfit. But how did that phrase come about? A “treat” is something good, yes; but is that where it came from? I think maybe it’s actually the shortened version of “treat yourself well.” Think about it…are you treating yourself well? You might treat yourself to new things, but do you treat yourself well every day?

I’m often guilty of not treating myself well. Negative thoughts spring to mind before positive ones, I mentally berate myself for my shortcomings and forget to pat myself on the back when I do well. I think people (me included) often mistake pride or indulgence with just treating yourself well. Sometimes you need to just love yourself, love every hair on your head, love every inch of yourself.

Sometimes you need to treat yourself well by indulging in some base human pleasures…like being touched. Now, don’t get all mind-in-the-gutter on me, but think about it. Humans need touch. If you are like me, you need it like air, like water. It’s necessary to life. Hugging a friend. The squeeze of a boyfriend’s hand. Your mom’s hand brushing your shoulder as she walks by you. Even a hand shake with a stranger. Human touch makes people vulnerable, ties peolpe together.

So yesterday afternoon, I let myself be touched. (Again, get your mind out of the gutter. Silly blog readers.) I used a gift certificate for a massage and a deluxe pedicure at a local day spa, Utopia Chalet. I let myself breathe, relax, let go, and be touched…by strangers no less. But it was comforting. My pedicurist (is that a word?) and I bonded over some recent life experiences we had in common. And as she talked, she treated my feet well. And I felt the stress melt through my soles. I sat there and tried to think positive thoughts, tried to dispel any stressful moments that tried to wedge themselves back into my mind. I was treating myself well. Not just because I was getting a pedicure (because let’s get real, I won’t be getting pedicures that often), but because I was making an effort to love myself, to let myself go, to be kind to myself.

Treat yourself well today. Yourself will thank you.

2 thoughts on “Treat Yourself

  1. Todd

    I think you are getting it. Nice toes. 🙂 Sassy red. That was one of your best blog enteries yet. Stay in the Sun. Have a great day. You definitely deserve it.

    Reply
  2. Jesslinn

    I concur with the above statements. This blog made me swell with pride…like my Meh-Meh is all growing up. 😉 You certainly deserve to be treated well, by everyone around you, but most importantly by yourself. You are beautiful. You are loved. And one should never underestimate the power of touch. (Words to live by from your favorite massage therapist.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

