To Buy or Not to Buy:::A Gainesville Photographer’s Dilemma

There’s something you should know about me. I am terrible at making decisions. What should I wear to work this morning? Three piles of clothes later, I’m wearing my go-to cardigan, you know, the one you always throw on when you just don’t like anything else. What should I order at a restaurant? Well, that’s just impossible to decide, because without fail, I will wish I was eating what someone else ordered.

And don’t even get me started on the decisions that realllly effect my life. ie, jobs, apartments…the list goes on. I’m a wreck every time.

So, imagine my indecisiveness when it comes to buying photography equipment. It costs how much? Oh man, I’m going to be researching this decision for the next four months.

But despite my weakness, I have a decision to make, and I want some help. It’s time for a camera upgrade, which I’m WAY excited about, and also clutching my wallet to my heart, already lamenting the money that will be saying peace out to my bank account. I do know one thing though…this photography thing is here to stay, so whichever way I go, it will be money very well spent.

The dilemma: Do I buy the Canon 7D or the Canon 5D Mark II?

The current state of affairs: I own a Canon Rebel XT. It’s time for an upgrade. ‘Nuff said.

The deciding factors: The 5DMII is significantly more expensive (significantly), but it is full frame (apparently super important for pro-photogs), and it’s what all the uber-cool wedding photographers are using these days. Since my goal is to become an uber-cool wedding photographer someday…I kind of feel like this camera would be awesome.

However, the 7D is still a really good camera, and I’m kind of thinking I could use a stepping stone camera, something between the Rebel XT and the best of the best. The price of the 7D is less jaw-dropping, but it’s not full frame. (Like I said, this is apparently a big deal.) And, if I get the 7D, I will have more money flexibility for new lenses and other such equipment, which would be excellent. Then, once I start shooting my own weddings, I could upgrade to the 5DMII and have the 7D as my backup camera.

Am I getting ahead of myself? My trusty Rebel XT has done a great job for me, and I truly have noticed a difference when I’ve invested in new lenses…that’s when my photo quality really went up. So do I buy the 7D, invest in more quality glass, and hold my horses on the 5DMII? Or do I just go for the gold and head straight for the 5DMII?

The solution: I would welcome input from ANYONE…whether you know camera-speak or not. This is small business owner stuff–when do you invest alot in your business up front, and when do you take baby steps? Help please!

 Aww, my trusty Rebel…gotta love it. 🙂

5 thoughts on “To Buy or Not to Buy:::A Gainesville Photographer’s Dilemma

    1. Lifestill Photography

      Haha, yes we do! You already tried to explain the full frame thing to me, but I think I need a refresher course. 😉

      Reply
  1. Once_a_King

    Well, you just can’t fail with a Canon Sure-Shot or the one that Ashton Kutcher runs with one finger on the commercials. That one must be SUPER cool, after all, we are talking . . . Ashton Kutcher! 😉

    Reply
  2. Once_a_King

    Or, seriously, why drop all that coin? I saw one on a keychain at Wal-Greens for 20 bucks. So easy to carry to shoots!

    Reply
  3. Sarah

    Getting in this a little late, but I wanna hear what you decided (or have you decided??)! The problem I could forsee with, well, either really, is that if you go with the 7D, you’re going to want to buy glass that can go full frame for when you do move up, which is $$. If you buy the 5DMII, are you going to be able to afford to buy full frame glass to go with it? Otherwise, you won’t get the benefit of the full frame. All else being equal, I would say buy the 5DMII…. Of course, in the same spot a year or so ago, I went with the a700 (not full frame) rather than the 900, so…. that being said, I don’t regret it one bit, but our career goals are a bit different too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

