Wacker Family Shoot:::Gainesville Family Photographer

Every time someone asked me what shoot I had planned for this past weekend, I would reply, “Well, it’s 3-year-old twins, and one is blond and the other is a redhead.”

And every time, the response was, “Awwwww!!! That’s going to be so cute!”

And it was pretty darn cute if I do say so myself! 😉

Wendy (yes, it’s another Wendy!) is one of my co-workers, and I’ve heard stories about her boys for awhile now…whether it’s the story of when she went into labor while she was at work, to how much they love the latest Disney movie. I met the boys briefly once before, but I was definitely not prepared for the overwhelming adorableness (yes, that’s a word!) that was in store for me.

Not only were these little dudes stinkin’ cute, they were total troopers and stuck it out through a 2 1/2 hour shoot! I guess time flies when you are having fun…like playing football, and soccer, and running around a playground, and playing with toy cars, and climbing on rocks…you name it, we did it, and it was a blast. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again–I love the kid shoots, because I get to be silly and carefree for an afternoon. Love it…and love this family. Thanks for hanging out with me on a hot, sunny Florida afternoon! 🙂

Quick disclaimer on the next photo: It’s a poor attempt at what I was trying to accomplish, but I’m posting it because I want some advice from anyone who can give it. I was trying a new technique where I keep the shutter open for a long time, to get a blurry motion affect. I was trying to get the parents sitting still with the boys running circles around the bench…but the boys only wanted to jump up and down, I didn’t have my tripod with me (tsk tsk, silly photographer), and like I said…this technique was a total first attempt. Excuse the photog-speak for a minute, but can anyone give me some advice on how to do this better? I had my shutter speed at about 1 s, f/22. I think that was what it was….and I just couldn’t get the exposure right, and I didn’t even want the boys quiiiite that blurry. Thoughts on a better setting to use?? Thanks to anyone who can help!

0 thoughts on “Wacker Family Shoot:::Gainesville Family Photographer

  1. Once_a_King

    Well, your photography business may do real well for you but clearly — based on this post and the last one — the big bucks for you will be in becoming the advertising-and-modeling agent for the kids you shoot!

    Reply
  2. Rocky Crites

    These pictures are REALLY GREAT!! You obviously worked very well with the boys. As you’ve probably noticed, they are not often in the same “mood”; so “twin shots” and “identical poses” are problematic. ;-)) As for trying to get the body blur: 1 second is too long. I’ve managed to capture a few “motion” shots, (over 50+ years) but have never successfully used more than about 1/4 second. I’m betting you only want a few inches of body displacement, and a kid’s whole jump cycle will last less than the 1 second exposure. The exposure time you need will have to be recalculated for each subject, since each will move through the desired action at a different speed. For example, the twins running will cover 5-7 feet per second. An exposure the length of the depth of their body (6″) would be about 1/10th of a second. Fortunately, with modern digital cameras, you don’t need to wait for the film to be “developed” to see the results! This might help with the timing, but I would think you would need some really expert ability with photoshop or some such to counter the “ghosting” — the boys look transparent in the blur. I’ll admit that that problem is way above my ability. Tell my Wendy HI! — Rocky

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Wacker Family Mini-Shoot | Gainesville Family Photographer |

Leave a Reply

