Rainy Day Observations

It’s a rainy Sunday afternoon. On the one hand, I love a rainy, slow Sunday afternoon. They mean relaxation, naps, and a good book. On the other hand, they also mean my photo shoot with a family who lives out of town got cancelled. Which means we don’t get to make up the shoot til later in the summer. Big time bummer. Oh well…I suppose I will make the most of this rainy day and get some editing, laundry, and general cleaning done. Sounds thrilling, eh?

A few random observations from my rainy Sunday:

  • I tend to watch the Sex in the City movie when editing (as I am right now)…or any other chick flick I’ve seen 100 times for that matter. Earlier this week it was How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days. Or, I listen to really poppy, peppy music, like the Glee soundtrack or Lady Gaga. Maybe sort teenybopper movies and music inspire me? Or I just like them, and they are just me.
  • I don’t really like the song Auld Lang Syne. It makes me feel weird every time I hear it.
  • I kind of could go for some sushi right now, probably because Samantha is throwing some at Smith right now on my tv. But it’s tuna sandwiches and clam chowder for me and the boy tonight, which is delish. But I might just need a California Roll in my life this week.
  • I found fleas on Lexie today. Gross. And I just put her flea medicine on her last week…so, that’s lame. Looks like puppy will be getting a flea bath tonight.
  • I am starting to see the merits of buying well-made clothes. I’m wearing a simple gray long-sleeved T from The Loft, and it’s so soft I might just live in it from now on.
  • On that note…if I ever have enough clothes, or nice enough clothes, to fill it…I would really love Carrie Bradshaw’s fabulous closet. And I’d take her Manolo’s too.
  • Ok, is it super pathetic that I still cry during this movie every time I see it? I’m such a sap. Stop laughing.
  • I want a tattoo. Sooner than later. Just gotta decide what to get…I have some ideas, but I need to keep pondering. Not one for the spur-of-the-moment decisions.
  • I should get back to editing. Photoshop is calling…:) What should my next movie choice be? Hmmm…I think The Holiday is calling my name…

 

0 thoughts on “Rainy Day Observations

  1. Once_a_King

    I was just getting ready to say that, for reasons that are obvious, I really like The Holiday and for reasons that are not so obvious to me I really like Failure to Launch (pretty standard chick-flick in the vein of How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, which I also like.)

    Now, to avoid those telling-looks and eye-rolls let me add (as I say, I just plain like movies) that I also like —

    Gladiator
    Conan the Barbarian
    Saving Private Ryan
    Patton
    We Were Soldiers
    Gettysburg
    Braveheart
    The Hurt Locker
    From Here to Eternity
    Hellcats of the Navy
    The Longest Day
    The Patriot
    . . . is that enough to get the idea? 😉

    Reply
  2. Once_a_King

    Not to mention
    Run Silent Run Deep
    and a little story from my childhood.

    When I was little (9-ish?) Mom would take me downtown in Washington DC to go shopping with her. We found out that a day of shopping desperately bored me and likely I got whiny. So she started dropping me off alone at a downtown theater — wow, you wouldn’t do that these days! — and we would meet up later. During one of these trips I saw Merrill’s Marauders which I have thought about all my life since then. Merrill’s men were fighting the Japanese in the little known theater of Burma. Anwen’s Grandpa Roy flew supplies for Merrill’s Marauders!

    On another of those shopping days I saw Around the World in 80 Days (50’s version) which I remember enjoying very much. I wonder if I would like it, if any of us would like it, now? (I remember thinking It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World in the 50’s was the funniest movie I ever saw. I saw it after I became an adult and I hate to say it was mind-numbingly boring. Would The Russians are Coming, The Russians ae Coming, another very popular 50’s movie, be the same?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

