Bunny biscuits?? Yes, please!

If I had a dollar for every time I’ve thought how nice it would be to just be a little kid again…well, I’d be rich. And then I probably wouldn’t really want to be a little kid again, because I’d want to be able to spend my dough on adult things like cars and traveling…but I digress.

I think we all can agree that some of the sweetest moments in our lives as adults are the ones when we pause, take deep breaths, and enjoy something in a “kid-like” way. I’ve been pretty stressed out lately. Alot of things have contributed to it, and it’s made for some rough days and not enough deep breaths…except for this past weekend in Winterhaven for Easter.

I spent a mere 24 hours there, but they were some of the most relaxing, calming hours I’ve had in awhile. And I think it’s because I was breathing, taking note of the small things,  just enjoying little moments, and just being a little “kid-like.”

Every Easter since I can remember, we have done two things: dye eggs, and make bunny biscuits. What in the world are bunny biscuits?? Just the most delicious, fun, cutest Easter tradiation EVER!

You can probably see from the photos below how to make them, but here’s the gist. Get together some regular old biscuits, some almond slivers, maraschino cherries, raisins, and pink frosting. I won’t lie, I don’t remember how to make the frosting, so maybe my mom will leave a comment with the instructions for that. (Hi, Mom!)

Use two biscuits for each bunny–one for the head, and one you will cut in half to make ears. As we learned this Easter from Artsy-Fartsy Todd, the ears can be shaped into any sort of cute position you would like. We had flop-eared and twisty-eared bunnies for the first time, and it was adorable. 

Then, use raisins for the eyes, a half of a maraschino cherry for the nose,  almond slivers for the whiskers, and pink frosting on the ears. Feel free to get creative with the positioning of said facial features. If you are like my little brother, yours will probably look like an alien bunny, with many eyes staring out of what was once a cute bunny face. If you are like me, your bunny will probably just be completely covered in frosting. Oh, but don’t put the frosting on til after the baking of the biscuits. Putting it on before would probably be a very bad idea.

Also, little known fact: They do not even have to be bunnies! I warn you, this idea if only for the super-creatives out there (ie, not me)…but you can actually make PUPPIES too!! Todd decided to make a Lexie-biscuit, and it was perfect. We almost had trouble eating it…but of course we did. They are too delicious to resist!

The Lexie-biscuit took some tricky finger work…

See the concentration??

The biscuits should be golden brown when they come out of the oven.

Look at the sweet puppy…hi little lady! Hi pretty girl! Look at the little Lex, isn’t she a sweet puppy? Yes she is! (Opps, sorry about the baby talk, got confused for a second…thought that was actually Lex. I told you, Todd’s a biscuit-molding master!)

See, you can’t tell the difference, can you? 😉

I love bunny biscuits. It wouldn’t be Easter without them!

Dying eggs was fun too…we opted for the ultra-bright option over pastel colors.

And my mom even saved the day by bringing wax crayons, which are my favorite. I went a little crazy with them, and loved every second of my “kid-like” Easter.

Moral of the story…when stress is getting to you, make food shaped like cute animals. It’s sure to make you smile. 🙂

0 thoughts on “Bunny biscuits?? Yes, please!

  1. Mom

    Loved this blog. And so glad you still love “Bunny Biscuits” and dying eggs.

    Bunny Biscuit Icing Recipe

    Blend two cups confectioner’s sugar and 1/2 tsp. salt with wire wisk. Stir in 1 tsp. vanilla extract, a little juice from the jar of maraschino cherries to make it pink, and 1 Tbsp. milk. Keep adding milk, a Tbsp at a time till it’s spreading consistency.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

