True Love

I witnessed something this weekend that was profound. It’s something that’s always been there, but I’ve never taken time to stop and notice it. I got to witness something so rare and beautiful. I witnessed true love.

My grandparents have been married for over 60 years. That amount of time requires great wisdom, and maybe even more so, great love. To be with someone that long, to love someone through the ups and downs that come in life…it’s an amazing thing to witness in a day and age when divorce has become an easy fix when things get difficult, when life happens.

My grandparents have a love for each other that brings tears to my eyes. The short amount of time I got to spend with them this weekend included some of the sweetest moments. I finally took notice of their love, their strength, their lives. I’ve heard their stories, I’ve looked at old pictures, but this weekend I think I finally got it. I took time walking around their house, taking pictures of the details that are so familiar to me, yet unexplained. Each little nook and cranny holds a memory, a piece of their life together. I was literally looking at their lives through a different lens.

I witnessed true love, and it was beautiful.

0 thoughts on “True Love

  1. Mom

    Wendy, that was the sweetest post and most precious picture. Thank you, Sweetie! I can’t wait to see more pictures!

    Reply
  2. Jamie Fifer

    Hey Wendy! That is so crazy because Casey, my fiance, and I were down there 3 weekends ago, and noticed the same thing! It is so amazing to go back there as an adult. Casey is absolutely in love with them and can’t stop talking about them.

    Reply
    1. Lifestill Photography

      That’s so funny that you said Casey is in love with them, because Todd was totally smitten with them too!! Grandma actually told Todd he was welcome back anytime, and he should feel free to bring me with him. Haha…too cute. By the way, I’m planning on coming to your wedding! I think my mom rsvp’d for me on their card. It’s been what, like 4 or more years since I’ve seen you? Crazy! I’m excited you are getting married, and I can’t wait to meet Casey…he’s a cutie!! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

