What sets me apart? ME.

Here’s the thing about comfort zones. They are comfortable. And here’s the thing about blogs. They are easy to hide behind. And then here’s the thing about a successful photography business. It’s about more than just taking pretty pictures.

Ok, you say. Sure, those things are true. But what’s the point?

The point is, I need to get out of my comfort zone and stop letting only my pictures do the talking.

I need to start showing potential clients who I am, because maybe I am just the person they would want to welcome into a special moment in their life. Or maybe I’m not. Either way, I’ve realized that the photographers who I look up to the most are the ones who welcome me into their lives through their blog. They give me a glimpse of who they are, what they like, and how they got where they are today. And as a result, they have clients who share their vision, embrace their individual creativity, and trust them as a photographer. I can’t think of anything you would want more in a creative business like photography.

So, the point of all this is…I’m going to start blogging more than just photo shoots on here. What will I write about exactly? Well…stay tuned to see! (In other words, I have no idea yet, but I promise it will be fabulous. 🙂 )

I’ll leave you with the quote that inspired this post, straight from the blog of one of my favorite photographers, Jasmine Star:

Isaac asked:  What in your opinion is your competitive advantage? I’m going to ask a side-question as well that is related, but what do other professionals and/or your clients say draws them to you?

Jasmine Star answered: I’m going to be really, reeeeally honest right now. I don’t have a competitive advantage. There are literally thousands of photographers here in Southern California. All who take good photos. Many of who shoot with the same camera I do. Most of who edit in Photoshop the way I do. All of who love the art of photography just as much as I do. What sets me apart? ME. So, if this can be a considered a competitive advantage, then by all means, I’ll rock it out. However, this also means that anyone can be their own competitive advantage…which is awesome! Everyone is truly and uniquely created and that’s precisely what photographers should leverage as they’re greatest competitive advantage.

And of course, here’s a photo for you to enjoy on this rainy, supremely gross day in Gainesville. Just pretend it looks like this outside. 🙂

Leave a Reply

